Pesky Vacuums

This little story has nothing to do with fishing. I know, you’re probably wondering why I’m even bothering with telling it if it doesn’t involve big fish or some adventurous place. Well, I’m telling it because it’s funny and it’s at my own expense.

To me there’s nothing more embarrassing than having a room where you can’t even see your own carpet. With that said, my room is usually kept up nice and tidy. I had just finished up with a two week fishing spree where I basically just slept in my bed then left early in the morning; leaving my clothes, fishing gear and other things on the floor. My room was a disaster and it was driving me stark raving mad. I finally got to the point where I had to do something about this mess that I always tried so hard to avoid. I picked everything up, threw clothes in the washer, made my bed, dusted my dresser and desk, I even windexed my windows. Then to top it off, I walked downstairs and grabbed my vacuum.

After a long day of fishing, I tend to be lazy and won’t break my rods completely down. I’ll just break them in half with the leader and flies still attached (which also makes it easier to put everything back together again) then put them in a corner of my room where I feel they’ll be safe from any harm. I vacuumed the stairs, hallway and made my way into my room, sucking up grit, rocks and who knows what else along the way. I gradually worked my way closer to the corner where I had my rods leaning against the wall. At about 4 feet away, this little voice popped into my head saying, “Don’t go any further, Camille.” To my regret and annoyance I ignored it. I pushed the vacuum about a foot further and all of a sudden this awful squealing noise came from the power-head as the top section of my 4wt was sucked into the vortex of my vacuum.

I frantically turned it off, knowing full well that my rod was in pieces and shards. After reviewing the crime scene, I found that there was a 3ft section of leader that was laying out on the carpet, which was sucked up, dragging my rod with it. I felt so stupid, I couldn’t even be mad. I just shook my head in disbelief that I had managed to break a rod with a flippin vacuum. I guess that’s what I get for being a clean freak.

So the lesson learned here was, fly rods are not vacuum proof. Remember this when you vacuum around any of yours.

576781_405918346105345_866923163_n

Photo: Ian Majszak Detonation Studios

Leave a Reply

