Go Cats!

 

Unfortunatley, as usual all good things must come to an end and it’s time to go back to work. For me it was back to school. I left Redding the 13th of Dec. and made the long treck back to my home state of Montana. After a few weeks of hanging out with the folks and gathering my bearings for college, I packed my bags, threw them into the “Ford Ranger” and took off for Montana State University in Bozeman.

 Once in Bozo, I tackled the task of signing up for classes, and transferring all my financial aid. Both of which proved to test my patience to the fullest extent. If theres one thing about MSU, it is extremely un-organized. Scheduling for classes was very sketchy for not very many classes were open for new students, so on the day of registration I was on the door step first at 7 am so I could insure that I had a spot in the classes I wanted. To make a long story short, the first three days of college were hair raising.

For this first semester I’m living in the North Hedges dormitory. I had never been there before, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but once I opened the door to my new room my eyes nearly popped out of my head. The room was TINY!!! A bed frame, small desk, and closet made up my side of the room (same on the other side). It was then that I thought about my room mate. ” I sure hope she’s cool, because it’s going to royally suck if we hate eachother.”

Roomies!  Photo by: Camille Egdorf

Roomies! Photo by: Camille Egdorf

The view from my dorm room. Bozo had a massive snow storm that rocked the town for several days.  Photo by: Camille Egdorf

The view from my dorm room. Bozo had a massive snow storm that rocked the town for several days. Photo by: Camille Egdorf

My room mate goes by the name of Ashley, and to my releif, she’s pretty awesome. She grew up in Culbertson (a small town in Montana) and had been in college for two years. To my surprise, we had a lot in common. She likes to fish, loves scary movies (scary movies are awesome), is into horses, and a bunch of other little things. She introduced me to a bunch of her good friends, which I in turn became good friends with. A good friend of mine from high school came to Bozeman to visit, and I figured I would drag him along with me and my new friends for a night out on the town. After a full night of jitter bugging, some “non-alcoholic” drinking games, and pool matches, he comes up to me and says, ” You know Camille, you always manage to be-friend the redneck crowd.” After I heard that I couldn’t help but laugh. What can I say, he was right!

A fun and crazy night with my friends.  Photo by: Camille Egdorf

A fun and crazy night with my friends. Photo by: Camille Egdorf

College classes are, as expected, very different from any high school. For my first semester I’m signed up for four classes. Economics (yuck), Public Speaking, English, and my favorite Photography. One class I absolutely despise is Economics. It’s a two hour lecture with nearly two hundred students. So as can be expected, it is difficult to pay attention at all times. Although my professor is a hippy so there are some commical moments. My photography class is a highlight for me. I’ve always been interested in photography and wish I could at least know what the heck I was doing when I punched the trigger. So far the class has been very beneficial, so hopefully my skills have at least been bumped up a couple levels. My other classes (english and public speaking) are just boring and at times agonizing.

2 thoughts on “Go Cats!

Leave a Reply

